NAIDOC WEEK: Because of her, we can!

Kunyi June Anne McInerney, author and artist, will share stories of her time in the Oodnadatta Children’s Home Duntjiba.

In this unique education  program  celebrating the NAIDOC Week theme Because of her, we can!, Kunyi will share her art and stories with school groups   and will teach and lead children in playing Mani Mani, a game with gum leaves played in sandpits, one of the games that Kunyi regularly played whilst in the Children’s Home.

Students from Kuarna Plains School will accompany Kunyi teaching and playing these games on Wednesdays throughout this period.

Times are 10-11.30 and 12.30-2. Mondays it will be Kunyi leading and Wednesdays we will also have Kaurna Plains students supporting Kunyi.

  • Cost $50 per class (equity $20)
  • Bookings essential. Phone 82077580

Available Mondays and Wednesdays only 10 – 11.30 am and 12.30 – 2 pm. Commencing in Reconciliation Week 27 May and continuing throughout Term 2 until NAIDOC Week 8 July.

  • Monday May 7
  • Wednesday  May 16
  • Monday May 21
  • Wednesday May 23
  • Wednesday May 30
  • Monday June 4
  • Wednesday June 6 10-11.30 only
  • Wednesday June 13
  • Monday June 18
  • Wednesday June 20
  • Monday June 25
  • Wednesday June 27
  • Monday July 2

This education program addresses the cross curriculum priority The study of  Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures priority providing  opportunities for all students to deepen their knowledge of Australia by engaging with the world’s oldest continuous living cultures. Through the Australian Curriculum, students will understand that contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities are strong, resilient, rich and diverse.

WordPress Lightbox Plugin